Hair Journey

Collage 2016-02-14 21_33_38_edit

So let’s start with my hair journey…

Now, all through primary school and a little bit of secondary school, I always had natural hair; well mom never let us relax until secondary school. My hair was always so dry, so tangled, I hated it! Hairdressers complained so much about it cause along with the dryness, I had really thick hair; once a hairdresser actually took a painkiller after making my hair!

Eventually, I got so tired and finally relaxed it. Now I had this image of long flowy hair, but noo way, it looked like a rat died on my head! After about 3 relaxes, it finally got permed, and then I put rollers under the dryer and the result was amazing!

I kept this up for a while. Sometimes when my hair was due for relaxing, it’ll get so hard and thick and so difficult to maintain, but I never imagined, for once, cutting my hair.

After my A’levels, I had this long break, where I started experimenting stuff. I wanted to try new things, and then I stumbled on the ‘team natural’ rush. It was everywhere, I saw girls growing gorgeous natural hair, and I just wanted it (guess that’s everyone’s story). I studied it some more, followed some really interesting youtubers, tried out different stuff with my hair and I learnt so much. Eventually, I began transitioning, and cause I’m so impatient, I cut it after about a month transitioning.

So lets do the maths…

My last relaxer – May, 2014

Big chop – November, 2014

20150212_115150

20141130_100442

Cute right!

I studied some more, spent some stupid money on unnecessary products! But I learnt, I learnt a lot! I was always so bothered as to why those girls on instagram and pinterest had such fabulous hair, I tried using the same regimen (or so I thought) and it just didnt seem to work!

Its been 1 year and 2 months now, a lot of almost giving up, protective styling (we’re going to talk on that later), now I think I’m finally getting it right. NO! not that its all right yet, nah I’m just getting it!

20151022_101721

20151022_102148 - Copy

 

20151021_085519

 

I’ve come a long way, and I still have a long way to go.

There‘s so much I want to share. So, stay tuned to much more from me sharing here on the Afropelo.  

Like, comment and subscribe. There’s so much to learn!  

Instagram: @the_afropelo
Facebook: Afropelo African Haircare

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. O'Damilola says:

    #afropelo

    Like

  2. fehintolaogunye says:

    Thanks for sharing your hair journey story. You have such beautiful hair.
    I just started my hair journey recently. I didn’t really give my hair any thought until last December when I saw a picture of a wedding I attended and my resciding hairline was VERY obvious. I knew it was time to make a change and to take better care of my hair. I began to do things I thought was right for my hair, then browsed the internet for more information and watched videos of hair bloggers on YouTube. Thankfully I have a friend/colleague who’s also a hair blogger and has an online hair shop (www.hairgineering.com) so I got basic hair products from her online shop (shampoo, conditioner, deep conditioner, leave-in conditioner) before this I didn’t own one single hair product. In April, I big chopped my hair, I didn’t know I could have transitioned from relaxed hair to natural hair.
    It’s real work taking care of my hair. I have to constantly remind myself to cowash and moisturise and do all the other things that are good for my hair. I currently use a hair journal app I downloaded from Google play store. It’ll help me keep track of my journey and the process from a TWA to a big fro😆.
    Cheers💋💋💋💋

    Like

    1. tosinfarai says:

      Thanks so much ma, and so sorry for the late reply. I’m glad you have someone to provide the proper products, I didn’t really have that, and yes we definitely have to constantly remind ourselves to go so we don’t give up.

      Once again, thanks. Have a lovely weekend😊😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

